Northumberland County Council > Councillors & democracy

Councillors & democracy

also known as: Committees, Constitution, Meetings, Members.

This page contains details about councillors, committee meetings, the membership of committees, councillors' declarations of interest and expenses, the Forward Plan, petitioning and democracy workshops.

If you have any other queries about council democracy and process, but can't find what you are looking for, please email us at: or call 0345 600 6400

Who is your County Councillor - search by postcode


County Councillor information 

Northumberland County Council is made up of 67 elected councillors each representing an area of the County:


Committees and meetings

Find out more about our committees, when future meetings will be held, access the relevant papers and find the minutes from previous meetings here:


Get Involved

There are lots of different ways you can get involved with the County Council and have your say on matters which affect you:


Parish and Town Councils

Parish and town councils have the power to provide additional services for their town or parish, and are consulted about issues that particularly affect their localities.

Find your local Parish or Town Council and how to contact them here


Local MPs and MEPs

MPs and MEPs operate separately to Northumberland County Council. They represent Northumberland in the House of Commons and the European Parliament.

Find out who your MP and MEP and how to contact them here



Executive and Scrutiny functions were created as a result of the Local Government Act 2000 and Health and Social Care Act 2001 (for Health Scrutiny)

This enables non-executive members to influence decisions that are taken by the Policy Board and ensure the views and needs of local people are taken into account.

Additional information