School term & holiday dates

Here you will find information on all term dates and school closures for Northumberland.

Watch our welcome video where Jill, School Admissions and Inclusion Manager, talks about how this page can help you to find out what you are looking for.

School term dates and holidays

The following documents provide information regarding planned teacher training days and closures.

Please note teacher training days are subject to change and are updated regularly.  If the relevant school is not listed, please check the individual school's website.

School closures – teacher training days (special schools)

School closures – teacher training days

Welcome to the school holiday term dates page. Here you will find information on school dates for holidays, teacher training days and unplanned school closures.

Northumberland school holiday and term dates 2022/2023
Please note, some schools have allocated their own term dates.
You should also check your school's website.

 
Holiday or occasion of closure Date on which school will close Date on which school will reopen
Summer 2022 Friday 22 July 2022 Monday 5 September 2022
October half term 2022 Friday 21 October 2022 Monday 31 October 2022
Christmas/New year 2022/2023 Friday 23 December 2022 Monday 9 January 2023
Spring half term 2023 Friday 17 February 2023 Monday 27 February 2023
Easter 2023 Friday 31 March 2023 Monday 17 April 2023
Summer half term 2023 Friday 26 May 2023 Monday 5 June 2023
Summer 2023 Friday 21 July 2023 Monday 4 September 2023

NB:  Please contact your child's school directly for teacher training days.

View the links below to download PDF versions of the school term dates.
If an authorised absence request is granted, it will be the headteacher's responsibility to determine the length of time a child is absent.

Authorised absence is unlikely to be granted for family holidays.
Parents/carers can be fined for taking a child on holiday during term time without consent.

Further information regarding term-time absence can be found here.

 
Should we be informed of any of schools closed due to weather, building problems or other local reasons they will appear below.

Unplanned school closures will appear here: 

Link to Northumberland  School Closure List


Please also follow our alert social media channels for information on unplanned school closures when the school has informed us of a problem. We also recommend that you also check with the individual school via their website, Social media pages and parent mail.


Details of school closures are also given on: