logo

Teenage pregnancy team

also known as: Contraception, Family Planning, Pregnancy, Sexual Health.

Working with young people, young parents and parents to be throughout Northumberland

Index of information on this page

 

Aim of service

  • 50% reduction in the under 18 teenage conception rate by 2010 from a 1998 baseline conception rate of 47.2 per 1000 females aged 15-17 to 23.
  • 60% increase in the participation of teenage parents in education training or employment to reduce their long term social exclusion by 2010.

Our Vision

For young people in Northumberland regardless of race, gender or social class to have access to high quality sex and relationship education (SRE), and be aware of and have access to contraception and sexual health services that meet their needs.  Pregnant teenagers and teenage parents will have access to support in their area. 

Our Mission

Young people will be at the centre of planning, delivering and evaluating the work.

We Offer

  • Antenatal & Postnatal Support
  • Infant Feeding Choices
  • Emotional Support
  • Individual or Group Support
  • Contraception Information Advice and Guidance
  • Pregnancy Decision Making
  • Childcare Choices
  • Care to Learn - child care scheme advice
  • Maternity Rights and Benefits
  • Housing Advice
  • Education and Training Choices
  • Sex and Relationship Education (SRE)

 

Other Services Include Advice and Support to Access

 

Click here to download our Training Guide for 2013 (for eligible people only)

Click to download training application form

 

Referrals

Referrals are accepted from all agencies working with young parents and parents to be in Northumberland.

PLEASE NOTE: Young people and their families can also refer themselves.

The team can support all young parents and parents to be who are under 19 years at the start of their pregnancy.

The Teenage Pregnancy Team (TPT) will refer to other agencies when it is appropriate and when further services are needed.

Click here to download a referral form.  If you need any help completing the form contact the team on the details below.

 

Useful Links

Click here to visit NHS Choices

Click here for Chlamydia Screening (Check your Bits)

 

Contact Us

Main Office Number - 01670 819049

 

Karen Rowell - Teenage Pregnancy Programme Manager - 01670 840896

karen.rowell@nhct.nhs.uk

 

Jane Telfer - Health Improvement Practitioner Specialist Teenage Pregnancy - 01670 532006

jane.telfer@nhct.nhs.uk

 

Maggie Martin - Project Development Worker Community - 01670 532005

maggie.martin@nhct.nhs.uk

 

Lorraine Topping - Teenage Parents Support Worker - 01670 532009

lorraine.topping@nhct.nhs.uk

 

Leanne Hill - Public Health Nurse - 01670 532011

leanne.hill@nhct.nhs.uk

 

Lynn Scott - Young Persons Health Trainer - 01670 532018

lynn.scott@nhct.nhs.uk

 

Tracy Bruce - Health Improvement Practitioner Specialist - 01670 532013

tracy.bruce@nhct.nhs.uk

 

Janine Middlemiss - Teenage Pregnancy Support Officer - 01670 819049

janine.middlemiss@nhct.nhs.uk

 

Fax: 01670 816796

Email: teenage.pregnancy@nhct.nhs.uk

 

Useful Documents

pdfSRE Brochure_.pdf 1,634 KB9/22/2011 2:09 PM
pdfYoung people's rights leaflet.pdf 333 KB9/13/2011 11:56 AM
docSpeakeasy Flyer - JT.doc 404 KB9/13/2011 11:56 AM
pdfHimp training Catalogue 16.4.13.pdf 512 KB5/22/2013 9:32 AM
doc 992 KB5/22/2013 9:33 AM
docTeenage Pregnancy Referral Form 640 KB6/8/2011 2:03 PM