Hazardous household waste

Hazardous household waste

Here we provide information about the disposal and collection of your hazardous household waste.

How to dispose of your hazardous waste

The type and quantity of hazardous waste determines how it can be recycled or disposed of.

Below are three ways Northumberland residents can dispose of hazardous waste, depending on what type of waste you have.

1. At one of our household waste recovery centres (HWRCs)
Our centres accept and recycle certain types of hazardous waste, including: 
  • used engine oil  
  • car batteries  
  • household batteries  
  • gas cylinders  
  • fridges  
  • freezers  
  • fluorescent tubes  
  • televisions  
  • computer monitors  
You can find more information about our household recovery centres here.
 
2. Return the waste to the retailer
If you have unwanted household medicines and pharmaceutical products, you can return them to the chemist for safe disposal. 
 
3. Use our hazardous waste collection service

We offer a free collection service every month for waste that our centres won’t accept such as asbestos, some garden pesticides and flammable solvents.

You must ensure that your hazardous materials are prepared properly for collection.

Prepare your hazardous materials for collection
Household chemicals
  • For each item please provide the product name, manufacturer, quantity and state if the container is leak proof.
    • leak-proof containers - store all of the chemicals in a box for efficient collection
    • non leak-proof container - double bag and store separately from the other chemicals
Asbestos 
  • The maximum weight allowed for collection is 360kg. This is approximately equivalent to a single garage roof or 12 sheets at 6ft x 3ft.
  • Asbestos sheets must be double wrapped in plastic sheeting and taped.
  • Damp proof membrane (DPM) is the recommended plastic sheeting.
  • Do not break asbestos sheets or any other materials containing asbestos into pieces.
  • If there happens to be any small or broken pieces carefully place these into heavy duty bags, double-bag and seal, e.g. fertiliser bags.
  • Please make sure all bagged and wrapped asbestos are not too heavy for one person to lift (approx 25kg) and labelled as asbestos.
  • Our service is for collection only. Please read the removal advice in our guide booklet. Additional information can also be found in this information sheet. 
Apply for our hazardous waste collection service

If you have any doubts about the removal of asbestos, you can get professional advice from either:  For assistance with dismantling and preparing asbestos for collection:
 
ASM Environmental Ltd (Blyth) 
Tel 01670 365756 
County Environmental (Blyth) 
Tel 01670 368609 
Chairman. Contact Gordon Blue 
Tel: 0191 414 8000 
Hendersons Insulation. 
Contact John Shenton. Tel: 0191 414 4242 
Halt Insulation Ltd, Contact Peter Orrick 
Tel: 0191 420 0550, mobile 0777 4747247 
RHODAR (ARCA) 
Tel: 01670 734 477 

 
2016 and 2017 monthly collection dates for hazardous household waste

2016 and 2017 monthly collection dates for hazardous household waste

Collection date Date to be submitted (by 4 pm)
Tuesday 6 and Wednesday 7 December Tuesday 29 November 2016
Tuesday 10 and Wednesday 11 January Monday 19 December 2016
Tuesday 7 and Wednesday 8 February Monday 30 January 2017
Tuesday 7 and Wednesday 8 March Monday 27 February 2017
Tuesday 4 and Wednesday 5 April Monday 27 March 2017
Tuesday 2 and Wednesday 3 May Monday 24 April 2017
Tuesday 6 and Wednesday 7 June Monday 29 May 2017
Tuesday 4 and Wednesday 5 July Monday 26 June 2017
Tuesday 1 and Wednesday 2 August Monday 24 July 2017
Tuesday 5 and Wednesday 6 September Monday 28 August 2017
Tuesday 3 and Wednesday 4 October Monday 25 September 2017
Tuesday 7 and Wednesday 8 November Monday 30 October 2017
Tuesday 5 and Wednesday 6 December Monday 27 November 2017