

Northumberland Local Plan – Policy HOU 10

Second and Holiday Homes in Northumberland

Census 2011

To help manage the increasing numbers of second and holiday homes in some parts of the county, the Northumberland Local Plan requires new housing built in the most affected parishes to be restricted in perpetuity for first and all future occupiers, to being occupied only as a 'principal residence'. For the purposes of Policy HOU 10 this applies to those parish areas identified in the most up-to-date Census as having 20% or more of household spaces with no usual (i.e. permanent) residents.

The following table lists the parishes to which this policy restriction currently applies, based on the Census 2011¹. This listing will be updated once the Census 2021 parish level data is released by the Office of National Statistics (ONS).

Parish	% household spaces with no usual residents	Parish	% household spaces with no usual residents
Beadnell	55.3	Embleton	26.7
Bamburgh	47.1	Kilham	25.9
Newton by the Sea	46.4	Branxton	25.9
Easington *	44.5	Kyloe	25.1
Holy Island	41.1	Alnham ***	24.3
Craster	39.2	Chillingham (Tillside) ****	23.5
Middleton *	37.9	Bewick	23.5
Doddington	35.9	Ilderton (Cheviotside) *****	22.7
Alnmouth	35.1	Earle	22.7
Akeld	31.6	Roddam (Cheviotside) *****	22.7
Kirknewton	31.6	Carham	21.4
Ingram	30.4	Netherton **	21.3
Adderstone with Lucker	29.1	Ellingham	21.2
North Sunderland	29.0	Coanwood 20.7	
Alwinton	26.7	West Allen 20.5	
Biddlestone **	26.7		

¹ While some parish names and boundaries have changed since the 2011 Census, the policy currently applies to the geographies of the parishes listed in the table from the 2011 Census, which can be identified using the Appendix map and key.

^{*} Easington and Middleton have now merged with Belford to form a combined single parish.

^{**} Netherton and Biddlestone have now merged to form a combined single parish.

^{***} Alnham has now merged with Whittingham and Callaly to form a combined single parish.

^{****} Chillingham has now merged with Chatton and Lilburn to form the combined single parish of Tillside.

^{*****} Ilderton and Roddam have now merged to form the combined single parish of Cheviotside.

APPENDIX

Northumberland Parishes Map (as at the time of the Census 2011)



Please Note this Map relates to parish boundaries in Northumberland and not parish councils. A parish may be split between more than one parish council and a parish council may represent more than one parish.

Published October 2013. Scale:1:455,000

Produced by the Policy and Research Team, Transformation Service, Northumberland County Council. © Crown Copyright. All rights reserved. NORTHUMBERLAND COUNTY COUNCIL - OS Licence No. 100049048.



Northumberland Parishes Map Key (as at the time of the Census 2011)

1	Acklington	57	Ellingham
2	Acomb	58	Ellington & Linton
3	Adderstone with Lucker	59	Elsdon
4	Akeld	60	Embleton
5	Allendale	61	Ewart
6	Alnham	62	Falstone
7	Alnmouth	63	Featherstone
8	Alnwick	64	Felton
9	Alwinton	65	Ford
10	Amble By the Sea	66	Glanton
11	Ancroft	67	Greenhead
12	Ashington	68	Greystead
13	Bamburgh	69	Haltwhistle
14	Bardon Mill	70	Harbottle
15	Bavington	71	Hartburn
16	Beadnell	72	Hartleyburn
17	Belford	73	Hauxley
18	Bellingham	74	Haydon
19	Belsay	75	Healey
20	Berwick-upon-Tweed	76	Hebron
21	Bewick	77	Heddon-on-the-Wall
22	Biddlestone	78	Hedgeley
23	Birtley	79	Hedley
24	Blanchland	80	Henshaw
25	Blyth	81	Hepple
26	Bowsden	82	Hepscott
27	Branxton	83	Hesleyhurst
28	Brinkburn	84	Hexham
29	Broomhaugh & Riding	85	Hexhamshire
30	Broomley & Stocksfield	86	Hollinghill
31	Bywell	87	Holy Island
32	Callaly	88	Horncliffe
33	Capheaton	89	Horsley
34	Carham	90	Humshaugh
35	Cartington	91	Ilderton
36	Chatton	92	Ingram
37	Chillingham	93	Kielder
38	Chollerton	94	Kilham
39	Choppington	95	Kirknewton
40	Coanwood	96	Kirkwhelpington
41	Corbridge	97	Knaresdale with Kirkhaugh
42	Cornhill-on-Tweed	98	Kyloe
43	Corsenside	99	Lesbury
44	Cramlington	100	Lilburn
45	Craster	101	Longframlington
46	Cresswell	102	Longhirst
47	Denwick	103	Longhorsley
48	Denwick (Detached)	104	Longhoughton
49	Doddington	105	Lowick
50	Duddo	106	Lynemouth
51	Earle	107	Matfen
52	Easington	108	Meldon
53	East Bedlington	109	Melkridge
54	East Chevington	110	Middleton
55	Edlingham	111	Milfield
56	Eglingham	112	Mitford
-	• –	•	-

113 Morpeth 114 Netherton 115 Netherwitton 116 Newbiggin by the Sea 117 Newbrough 118 Newton-by-the-Sea 119 Newton-on-the-Moor & Swarland 120 Norham 121 North Sunderland 122 Nunnykirk 123 Ord 124 Otterburn 125 Ovingham 126 Ovington 127 Pegswood 128 Plenmeller with Whitfield 129 Ponteland 130 Prudhoe 131 Rennington 132 Rochester 133 Roddam 134 Rothbury 135 Rothley 136 Sandhoe 137 Seaton Valley 138 Shilbottle 139 Shoreswood 140 Shotley Low Quarter 141 Simonburn 142 Slaley 143 Snitter 144 Stamfordham 145 Stannington 146 Tarset 147 Thirlwall 148 Thirston 149 Thropton 150 Togston Tritlington & West Chevington 151 152 Ulgham 153 Wall 154 Wallington Demesne 155 Warden 156 Wark 157 Warkworth 158 West Allen 159 West Bedlington Whalton 160 161 Whittingham 162 Whittington 163 Whitton & Tosson 164 Widdrington Station & Stobswood 165 Widdrington Village 166 Wooler 167 Wylam

Produced by the Northumberland County Council Policy and Research Team. e-mail. <u>knowledge@northumberland.gov.uk</u> | web. <u>knowledge.northumberland.gov.uk</u>



