Successful candidates in the youth elections

Youth Cabinet and Youth Parliament members elected

Votes have been counted and those elected have been declared in Northumberland’s annual Youth Cabinet and Youth Parliament elections.

Nearly 6,500 students between 11 and 18 voted in the elections - with 50 ballot boxes collected from schools and the votes counted at County Hall in Morpeth yesterday (23 January).

Elected to represent Northumberland in the UK Youth Parliament were Robbie Scott from The King Edward VI School in Morpeth and Erin O'Brien from Astley Community High School.

Successful candidates in the Northumberland Youth Cabinet election were Robbie Scott; Archie James Fyfe and Oliver Robert James Butts from Corbridge Middle School; Ojas Rajkumar from Ponteland High School; and Gracie Kate Dalgarno-Todd from Whytrig Community Middle School.

Election day was Wednesday 22 January and students from schools across Northumberland cast a record number of votes. 

The youth representatives official terms begin in February, with training taking place soon. 

Members get the chance to attend a number of events during the year, such as the annual sitting - a gathering of youth parliament members from around the country.  There is also a visit to the House of Commons for the youth parliament members, where they can take a seat on the prestigious green benches.

Cllr Wayne Daley, cabinet member for children’s services at Northumberland County Council, said:  “It is fantastic to see such an amazing turnout for these polls - and the passion of the young people who have put themselves up for election.

“I pass on my congratulations to all candidates, and hope that those who weren’t lucky enough to be elected today also continue with their work to improve lives for young people in Northumberland

“For those elected, the hard work starts now, and I look forward to seeing them all during the year as they progress with their roles.

“This will include the first ever combined Youth and County Council Cabinet meeting where our newly elected youth representatives will join the leadership of the County Council at a formal meeting." 
View all news