Image demonstrating Excellence Awards winners announced

Excellence Awards winners announced

The outstanding contribution County Council staff make to the lives of people across Northumberland have been recognised at this year’s Excellence Awards.

The prestigious awards ceremony was held in the beautiful Pavillion at the Alnwick Garden where guests included finalists, Council leaders and event sponsors - Galliford Try, Faithful and Gould, Kier, Potts, Womble Bond Dickinson, Northumbrian Water, Dennis Eagle Ltd and BT.

Peter Jackson, Leader of Northumberland County Council, said “Our judges had an incredibly tough task again this year, selecting the winners from so many high-calibre nominations.

“The evening allowed us to express our gratitude and celebrate our amazing staff, the people who make a real difference to our communities – it fills me with a tremendous sense of pride to call them my colleagues.

"Heartfelt thanks to all of those staff of Northumberland County Council who work selflessly to support all of our communities across the county in a huge variety of different ways.”

The award winners are:

Central Locality Team - Outstanding Team of the Year Award

Phil Donnelly - Outstanding Employee of the Year Award

Tyne Green Community Flood Project Team - Outstanding Partnership Working Award

Carol Barnfather - Respect and Compassion Award

Luke Newton - Outstanding Apprentice of the Year Award 

Kayleigh Wilkinson - Personal Development Award 

Discover our Land Campaign Team - Community Project of the Year Award

Lisa Bishop, Steven Briggs and Linda Jackson - Innovation Award

Isabel Easson - Customer Service of the Year Award

 Nigel Walsh - Excellence in Leadership Award

Jackie Roll - Lifetime Achievement Award

Three surprise awards were also presented on the night - Outstanding Bravery Award went to Mandy Simpson and Jack Stephenson, the Leader’s Choice Award went to the Technical Services Team, and the Chief Executive’s Choice Award went to the Elections Team.

View all news