Image demonstrating Youth elections results announced as thousands cast their vote

Youth elections results announced as thousands cast their vote

Nearly 6000  young people in schools across the county voted this week to elect Youth Parliament representatives and new members of the Northumberland Youth Cabinet.

Clark Kent Chavez and Ben Guadagno were successfully elected to Northumberland’s Youth Parliament.

Emily Cavanagh, Ezzie Critchlow, Cerys Ford, Matthew McCormack and Robbie Scott were successfully elected to Northumberland’s Youth Cabinet.

This year’s ballot saw another excellent turnout of  young people voting across the county.

Polling took place at participating schools on Wednesday 6 December and the results were announced at County Hall on Thursday 7 December.

Cllr Wayne Daley, deputy leader and cabinet member for children’s services said: “We are proud to have so many young people that care deeply about the future of the county. I'd like to congratulate all the successful candidates and wish them every success as they take on important roles representing the county’s young people.

“There was a really high turn-out at the polls which just goes to show how tuned in young people in Northumberland are and how much they care about where they live.

“The new members of the Cabinet and Parliament have got some great ideas and are all really passionate. I’m looking forward to working with them and I’m sure they’ll achieve a great deal for young people in the county.”

The new members will take up post of their two year term on 29th January 2018 following detailed planning of their projects for the forthcoming year when they will be joined by the existing Youth Cabinet and Youth Parliament members.

Elections take place annually and any young person who is interested in standing in the future can email for more information.

View all news