Image demonstrating Top teams announced for Tour of Britain

Top teams announced for Tour of Britain

The 20 teams for the 2017 OVO Energy Tour of Britain have today been announced, in a line-up that will feature ten UCI WorldTour teams, plus a further three squads that have competed in one of the two Grand Tours so far in 2017.


Spectators across the county will have the chance to see some of the world’s top riders during the Northumberland stage on September 4 which starts  in Kielder Water & Forest Park  and finishes in Blyth, passing  through  28  communities along its 211 km route.


All of the top five teams in the current UCI WorldTour rankings – Quick-Step Floors; Team Sky; BMC Racing; Movistar Team and Orica Scott – will be at the OVO Energy Tour of Britain.


Northumberland County Council has worked with start sponsors Northumbrian Water, finish sponsors Blyth Town Council and race organisers SweetSpot to bring the race to the county - and excitement is mounting with less than a month to go.


Northumberland County Councillor Cath Homer, cabinet member for culture, arts, leisure and tourism  said: “We’re now in the final run-up to this fantastic event coming to the county and it’s going to be an amazing spectacle for those watching.


“This announcement that some of the world’s top teams are taking part shows what a prestigious race this is in the cycling world.


“Excitement is mounting with less than a month to go and we’re encouraging communities across the route to get creative and decorate their towns and villages in the red and yellow of the county flag.


“With the race being broadcast around the world it’s a great chance to showcase everything that is so special about our county.”

Full Northumberland route details can be found at


Returning to the OVO Energy Tour of Britain will be Team Katusha Alpecin, who have confirmed Alexander Kristoff, winner of the European Championship Road Race and Prudential RideLondon – Surrey Classic on consecutive weekends, and his teammate World Time Trial Champion Tony Martin, who won the Bristol stage last year, as part of their provisional line-up.


“The Tour of Britain is not only a perfect race in my build-up to the World Championships, I will also try to win some stages”, said Alexander Kristoff. “For me it is a return to this race after eight-years. I still have good memories of my participation in 2009. Moreover, I always perform well on British soil. I took my Olympic medal in London as well as the victory in last week’s RideLondon-Surrey Classic WorldTour race. I really look forward participating in the OVO Energy Tour of Britain.”


Alongside Kristoff the OVO Energy Tour of Britain looks set to attract the world’s top sprinters, with Team Dimension Data’s Mark Cavendish targeting the Tour to return from his Tour de France injury, and Sky’s Elia Viviani publically aiming to add to his four stage wins in the race.


Viviani’s Team Sky teammate Geraint Thomas has already vowed in interviews to race the Tour for the first time since 2011, with the overall finish of the Tour in his home city of Cardiff for the first time on Sunday 10 September.


Commenting on the line-up, OVO Energy Tour of Britain Race Director Mick Bennett said: “We are delighted with this year’s line-up of teams for the OVO Energy Tour of Britain and with riders of the calibre of Geraint Thomas, Mark Cavendish and Alexander Kristoff coming out to say they will be targeting the OVO Energy Tour of Britain, this bodes for a fantastic spectacle for fans at the roadside and watching at home on television.


“The combination of teams from all three levels of the sport, plus the presence of a Great Britain national team and the continuation of six-man teams will continue to make for open and aggressive racing.”


A provisional rider list featuring all 120-riders for the OVO Energy Tour of Britain will be published towards the end of August.


Jonny Clay, British Cycling’s director of cycling, said: “This stellar line-up of riders again reinforces the regard in which the OVO Energy Tour of Britain is held among the world’s best riders and teams. We are extremely proud that, yet again, some of the most recognisable faces in our sport will be racing on British roads, inspiring the next generation of cyclists.”


The full list of teams for the OVO Energy Tour of Britain is:

  • An Post Chain Reaction (Ireland)

  • Bardiani CSF (Italy)

  • BIKE Channel Canyon (Great Britain)

  • BMC Racing Team (USA)

  • Cannondale Drapac Pro Cycling (USA)

  • CCC Sprandi Polkowice (Poland)

  • Cylance Pro Cycling (USA)

  • Great Britain national team (Great Britain)

  • JLT Condor (Great Britain)

  • Lotto Soudal (Belgium)

  • Madison Genesis (Great Britain)

  • Movistar Team (Spain)

  • ONE Pro Cycling (Great Britain)

  • Orica Scott (Australia)

  • Quick-Step Floors (Belgium)

  • Team Dimension Data (South Africa)

  • Team Katusha Alpecin (Germany)

  • Team Lotto NL – Jumbo (Netherlands)

  • Team Sky (Great Britain)

  • Wanty Groupe Gobert (Belgium)


Live coverage of the OVO Energy Tour of Britain will be shown on ITV4 and Eurosport in the UK, with both channels also screening daily highlights of the action.


The OVO Energy Tour of Britain is British Cycling’s premier road cycling event, giving cycling fans the opportunity to see the world’s best teams and riders competing on their door step, taking place between Sunday 3 and Sunday 10 September 2017.

View all news