Town & parish council - contact details

This page provides useful information and contact details for parish and town councils in the Northumberland area.

The charter’s purpose is to define the relationship and an effective working partnership between the County Council and Town and Parish Councils.

The aim of the Northumberland town and parish council charter is to identify how the county council and town and parish councils can work together to improve the economic, social and environmental wellbeing of Northumberland.
Since 2012, the following services have been the responsibility of the local councils across Northumberland:
  • allotments
  • annual planting
  • bus shelters
  • litter bins
  • play parks
  • public seats
  • seasonal lighting
  • war memorials
Some local councils also provide other services such as cemeteries and public conveniences. 

All other council services can be accessed via the county council’s website, by phone on 0345 600 6400, or at a Northumberland information centre, listed below. You can visit a centre Monday to Friday from 9am to 5pm (excluding bank holidays).
Alnwick Greenwell Lane, Alnwick, NE66 1HB
Ashington Wansbeck Square, Ashington NE63 9XL
Bedlington Bedlington Library, Glebe Road, Bedlington NE22 6JX
Berwick Walkergate Building, Walkergate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1DJ
Blyth Blyth Library, Bridge Street, Blyth NE24 1DJ
Cramlington Concordia, Cramlington NE23 6YB
Hexham Hadrian House, Hexham NE46 3NH
Morpeth Royal Sovereign House, Manchester Street, Morpeth NE61 1AF
Seaton Delaval The Library, Astley High School, Elsdon Avenue, Seaton Delaval NE25 0BW
Town & parish councils have the power to provide additional services for their area and are consulted about issues that affect their localities. Each parish belongs to one of three areas linking to Northumberland County Council's area committees.

The link below provides contact details for the clerks to the town and parish councils, and the register of members' interests.

Click here to view a list of all town & parish councils

Click to download the current list in spreadsheet format

Any amendments to these details should be emailed to or alternatively a hard copy can be posted to:

Committee Services
County Hall
NE61 2EF
Principal councils, like Northumberland County Council, have powers to conduct community governance reviews about matters such as the creation of parish councils and their electoral arrangements. This includes looking at administrative boundaries.

An essential feature of community governance reviews is consulting with electors and other stakeholders in the area being reviewed.
Two Community Governance Reviews are currently taking place as follows:-

Rothbury and Whitton & Tosson Parish Councils

Rothbury Parish Council has requested that a Community Governance Review be carried out with respect to its boundary with Whitton & Tosson Parish Council.

The terms of reference and map are below.

Terms of Reference

Cartington Parish Council

Cartington Parish Council has requested that a community governance review be carried out with a view to its dissolution and for its area to be split between Rothbury and Thropton Parish Councils

The terms of reference and maps are below.

Terms of Reference
Map 1
Map 2

The deadline for comments for both reviews is Friday, 21 June 2019.  Any comments should be made, in writing, to:

Lesley Bennett
Senior Democratic Services Officer
Democratic Services
Human Resources & Organisational Development Directorate
Northumberland County Council
County Hall
NE61 2EF

There are no recently completed reviews.
If you have any queries, please contact Lesley Bennett on 01670 622613 or e-mail